empty nests

As a journalist, I’m only as good as my voyeuristic instinct, and while I pride myself on my ability to give the third degree, I am floored by San Francisco photographer Todd Hido‘s more sophisticated (read: subtler) investigative eye. For his latest coffee-table tome, Witness Number 7, Hido goes beyond the closed curtains and barricaded doors of foreclosed homes in Stockton, Fresno and Bakersfield to expose the eerie stillness of these strangely compelling vacancies. The result is a haunting set of photos that triggers an insatiable curiosity in the viewer: Who used to live here? What memories linger in these rooms? And my own question for you: Are you comfortable being a nosy neighbor? —LML

One Response

  1. And my question: who can endure such ugly carpeting?

Leave a Reply

