1984

In celebration of my parents’ 25th wedding anniversary, my siblings and I are throwing a surprise party, with a “This is Your Life”-type movie and a surf-and-turf menu. And, we’re dressing up like it’s 1984 (the year they wed). There are few things I enjoy more in life than dressing up, be it for a fancy occasion or a costume party, so I have been doing my research in preparation for the big day.

For my two brothers I’m thinking: Wayfarers, headbands, peg-legged jeans and either a tie over a Hawaiian or a Polo and jacket:

Jerry curl with sweatband, classic

Jerry curl with sweatband, classic

Don Johnson at his best

Don Johnson at his best

For my sister and me: leg warmers over stirrup pants (obviously), oversize and off-the-shoulder sweatshirts or T-shirts tied asymmetrically in a knot and crimped hair.

80s inspiration board

80s inspiration board

Oh, and lots and lots of hair spray for everyone.

Aqua Net

Aqua Net

Do you have suggestions or perhaps inspirational photos? Please advise! —MR

2 Responses

  1. If only you could get the white suede outfit with fringe from Can’t Buy Me Love! I hope you and your sister were rocking scrunchies…cool idea!

    • Such an iconic outfit from the one of the best movies ever! Nice pop-culture reference 🙂

Leave a Reply

